1-800-551-5303

Victoria Palms est situé aux coordonnées GPS N 26° 10,5040 W 98° 1,7184 à Donna au Texas. Donna est situé au cœur de la vallée du Rio Grande, également connu sous le nom de VRG, située sur la pointe la plus méridionale du sud du Texas. La région est culturellement diversifiée et a un climat subtropical, ce qui donne des hivers avec un climat chaud parfaits pour les Texans d'hiver. 

Driving Directions:

From Highway 281 South: Take Expressway 83 Easy to Victoria Road. Turn right into park entrance.

From Highway 77 South: Take Expressway 83 West to Victoria Road. Cross over Expressway to park entrance.

 

Notre zone offre de nombreuses attractions!

La région est surtout connue pour son magnifique paysage naturel, sa proximité au South Padre Island, et quelques-uns des meilleurs points d'observations d'oiseaux dans le pays. Faire du shopping et manger au Mexique sont une courte distance en voiture et les rives du South Padre Island sont à environ une heure de conduite à l'est. Les excursionnistes d'un jour peuvent trouver des dizaines de points d'intérêts dans la région et ont beaucoup d'options au moment de choisir un voyage hors du lieu de séjour.

Le lieu de séjour est célèbre pour sa proximité du marché aux puces Don-Wes. Ce haut lieu de 25 acres de marchés aux puces est un arrêt très populaire pour les habitants et les visiteurs. À seulement quelques minutes à l'ouest se trouve McAllen, TX, une ville pleine de boutiques, de marchés, et de toutes les commodités d'une grande ville. À l'est se trouve à la fois Harlingen et Brownsville, chacune offrant beaucoup de choses à faire et plusieurs sites à voir. 

Parc national Bentsen-de la vallée du Rio Grande

Au sud de Mission sur le Rio Grande, le parc national Bentsen de 588-acres dans la vallée du Rio Grande est une région boisée luxuriante et plus dense que beaucoup d'autres zones de la vallée. Ce parc nous rappelle les refuges fauniques du sud du Texas. Des installations de camping, des aires de pique-nique et des systèmes complets de branchements et raccordements sont disponibles ainsi que des excursions. Ouvert aux visiteurs de jour de 8 h le matin à 22 h le soir tous les jours, toute l'année.

Plage et terres humides de Boca Chica

Au sud, à travers le chenal de navigation à partir de South Padre Island, se trouve la plage de Boca Chica de Brownsville à l'embouchure du Rio Grande. Asseyez-vous au sommet des hautes dunes blanches et observez les oiseaux migrateurs comme les faucons et les pélicans fréquentant les arbres sur les "lomas" (collines) ou îles élevées.

Champs de batailles de Brownsville
La dernière bataille de la guerre civile a été combattue à Palmito Ranch, près de Brownsville, plusieurs semaines après la reddition de la Confédération. Brownsville a également été pris dans les feux croisés de la guerre américano-mexicaine, à ce moment-là à Palo Alto. Les deux champs de batailles ont été conservés comme des sites historiques nationaux.

Laboratoire d'études côtières
Ce satellite de l'Université Panaméricaine du Texas étudie et montre la vie marine, comme les mollusques, les crustacés et les vertébrés marins ainsi que la vie végétale. Ouvert du dimanche au vendredi, de 13:30 à 16:30

Force aérienne confédérée-Escadre de la vallée du Rio Grande
Cette aile locale de la FAC abrite actuellement 15 avions en état de vol. D'autres expositions comprennent d'antiques véhicules militaires, des armes et des uniformes. Un spectacle aérien a lieu en mars. Ouvert du lundi au samedi, de 9 heures à 16h.

Lac Delta

Un lac artificiel formé comme un réservoir pour irriguer les fermes du nord de la mi- vallée, on peut presque toujours trouver des pêcheurs le long de ses rives. Un parc propose un pavillon et de grandes zones de pique-nique.

Plongée

Il existe actuellement deux sites dans la vallée qui offrent de l'excellente plongée. L'un est un récif artificiel construit par le "Département du Texas des parcs et de la faune" sept miles au large de South Padre Island depuis Port Isabel. L'autre est le Liberty Ship Reef de Port Mansfield, situé à 15 miles au large de Port Mansfield. Ces récifs artificiels sont devenus incrusté d'invertébrés, comme les balanes, les coraux et les éponges, qui sont le début de la chaîne alimentaire marine. Ils attirent le mérou, le vivaneau, la sériole, les balistes, le tarpon et le requin. Ce qui les rend idéaux pour les sites de plongée sous-marine.

Parc national, lac et barrage Falcon

Des basses collines et la beauté rustique de l'ouest du comté de Starr entoure cet immense réservoir de 115 600 acres sur le Rio Grande. La frontière internationale entre les États-Unis et le Mexique serpente à travers le milieu du lac. Des maisons de bain sont disponibles pour se laver après une journée parmi les grands espaces. Le ski et la pêche en eau douce sont superbes. Ouvert aux visiteurs de jour de 6 h à 22h.

Jardin zoologique de Gladys
Ouvert en 1971, le jardin zoologique de Gladys Porter continue d'être l'un des premiers zoos au monde. Avec plus de 1700 spécimens d'animaux, le zoo se spécialise dans la collecte et la reproduction d'espèces en voie de disparition. Ce parc de 31 hectares a tous les favoris d'un zoo comme les gorilles, les girafes, les lions et les rhinocéros, ainsi que d'autres animaux exotiques. Pratiquement tous les animaux vivent dans des expositions ouvertes où les visiteurs sont en mesure de les voir dans leur milieu naturel. Ouvert 365 jours par an à partir de 9 h à 17 heures avec le week-end prolongé et les heures d'été.

Musée historique de Brownsville
Installé dans le dépôt historique de passagers de chemins de fer du Pacifique Sud, l'histoire de ce musée retrace Brownsville avec des expositions de photos et d'autres expositions permanentes et en rotation. Le Centre d'éducation Heritage de Brownsville, situé au sein du musée, présente également des diaporamas, des conférences et d'autres événements spéciaux. Les visites de groupes sont disponibles avec un préavis. Ouvert du lundi au vendredi, de 10 à 16:30h et le samedi de 10 à 13h.

Chasse

Les deux premières semaines de septembre apportent un afflux d'oiseaux migrateurs, à bec et à manteau vert - des chasseurs alaires blancs. La vallée est la seule région aux États-Unis où la colombe à aile blanche peut être prise. Des baux de chasse sont également disponibles pour le cerf de Virginie, le dindon sauvage, le pécari et le cochon sauvage.

Réserve faunique nationale de Laguna Atascosa

À l'est de Rio Hondo et en bordure de la Laguna Madre, cette étendue de 45 000 hectares est le plus grand refuge faunique de la vallée et abrite des centaines d'espèces d'oiseaux ainsi que des ocelots, des cerfs, des pécaris, des écureuils, des belettes à longue queue, des alligators et des lions des montagnes qui sont certes très rares mais qui ont été repérés. Après vous êtes enregistré au Centre des visiteurs, voir le dur mais bel écosystème de la Laguna Madre en voiture ou à pied sur les routes cartographiées. Ouvert à longueur d'année, à tous les jours du lever du soleil à son coucher. Le Centre des visiteurs est ouvert d'octobre à avril, tous les jours, de 10 heures à 16 heures; de mai à juillet, les fins de semaine entre 10 heures et 16 heures. Fermé du 5 juillet au 30 septembre et les fêtes.

Centre de la nature McAllen

Les jardins botaniques fonctionnant par le biais de la ville de McAllen ont des zones pour pique-niquer dans des sentiers de randonnée qui montrent aux visiteurs une partie de la diversité végétale de la région.

Port Isabel

Frappez la haute mer pour des excursions à longueur de journée à bord de bateaux pour la pêche en haute mer ou taquinez le poisson dans la baie, connu sous le nom de Laguna Madre, au large des rives de la partie continentale ou de l'île. La baie est reconnue au niveau national pour ses sébastes, sa truite mouchetée et ses populations de soles qui fleurissent dans ses herbiers et dans ses eaux peu profondes. La population de poissons a bien rebondi suite à un gel sévère en 1989. Juste au nord du pont-jetée de la Reine Isabella à Port Isabel est une longue jetée allumée et parallèle au pont-jetée. Il y a là une boutique qui vend de la nourriture aussi bien pour vous que pour le poisson. La crevette est l'appât vivant de choix pour la pêche dans la baie, mais les leurres, en particulier les «vers», produisent également d'excellents résultats.

Port Mansfield

Une fois un village de pêcheurs commerciaux de petite taille et le port de service pour les compagnies pétrolières bordé par le King Ranch, Port Mansfield est maintenant principalement un point chaud de la pêche sportive. Le barbotage et la pêche de quai produisent aussi bien des résultats spectaculaires. Il y a aussi un tournoi annuel à la mi-juillet. L'hébergement, les restaurants, les clubs, les marinas, les parcs de véhicules récréatifs, et les guides de chasse et de pêche font de Port Mansfield ce quoi les chasseurs et les pêcheurs essaient de garder en secret.

Réserve faunique de Sabal Palm Grove

Ce sanctuaire faunique de 172-acres près de Brownsville, détenue par la National Audubon Society, est la forêt la plus grande et la mieux préservée de Texas Sabal Palm au pays. Une excellente destination pour la marche, la photographie et l'observation des plantes et animaux indigènes. Ouvert entre le 1er octobre et le 30 mai, du mardi au dimanche, entre 9 heures et 17 heures. Fermé le lundi et les fêtes. Entre le 1er juin et le 30 septembre, ouvert seulement les samedis et dimanches, fermé les fêtes.

Réserve faunique nationale de Santa Ana

La destination finale pour les ornithologues amateurs de partout dans le monde, ce refuge de 2080 hectares possède plus d'espèces d'oiseaux que tout autre endroit aux États-Unis. Sa mascotte est le rare Chachalaca, une sorte de poulet sauvage que l'on trouve seulement dans le delta du Rio Grande. Les visiteurs peuvent se retrouver à quelques pieds de ceux-ci et de d'autres oiseaux dociles. Marchez sur trois sentiers de différentes longueurs totalisant 12 miles au-dessous de la mousse suspendue. Arrêtez-vous à trois lacs artificiels et à des centres d'observation d'oiseaux. Ouvert tous les jours de l'aube au crépuscule. Les visites par tramway sont disponibles lors des horaires saisonniers. Le centre des visiteurs est ouvert de 9 heures à 16:30h.

Ile South Padre

Isla Blanca County Park est accessible en tournant vers le sud au large de la jetée. Il comprend deux pavillons en bord de mer qui ont souvent de la musique live durant les saisons occupées, une promenade le long de la mer de 1000 pieds, un port de plaisance, des restaurants, des boutiques de cadeaux, des filets de volley-ball et des douches. Promenez-vous ou pêchez au large des énormes jetées de granit. Ouvert tous les jours de 8 h à 19 h.

Andy Bowie County Park situé au nord des limites de la ville sur South Padre Island Drive / Autoroute 100 a de nombreuses améliorations récentes, y compris deux pavillons en bord de mer, des tables de pique-nique, des douches et des toilettes, ainsi qu'un grand parking. Ouvert tous les jours de 7:30 à 17 h; l'été de 7:30 à 19 h. Les randonneurs équestres peuvent prendre une trotte romantique à travers les vagues pour un tarif horaire très abordable.

Centre nature de la Vallée

Un sentier dans la nature d'un demi-mile et sans guide amenant les visiteurs à travers une forêt urbaine de 6 acres où les plantes indigènes sont le point de vue de la randonnée. Des expositions et des programmes sont offerts durant l'hiver et des ateliers pour enfants sont en vedette durant l'été. Les présentations peuvent être organisées pour des groupes communautaires. Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 9 h à 13 h. 

Home | Maps & Directions | Contact Us

Copyright © 1999 - 2012. VictoriaPalms.com All Rights Reserved.

1-800-551-5303

Our Area


Section Links:

Maps & Location Area Attractions
Crime & Statistics - Back to top of page

Victoria Palms is located at GPS Coordinates N 26° 10.5040 W 98° 1.7184 in Donna, Texas. Donna lies in the heart of the Rio Grande Valley, also known as the RGV, located on the southernmost tip of South Texas. The culturally diverse area has a subtropical climate, making for warm weathered winters perfect for Winter Texans.
 

Driving Directions:

From Highway 281 South: Take Expressway 83 Easy to Victoria Road. Turn right into park entrance.

From Highway 77 South: Take Expressway 83 West to Victoria Road. Cross over Expressway to park entrance.

 

Crime & Statistics


Section Links:

Maps & Location Area Attractions
Crime & Statistics - Back to top of page

McAllen, Texas is a subtropical paradise awaiting your arrival. We know that moving (or visiting) a new area can be a little scary, especially if you’ve never been there before. To help give you a little reassurance, we have put together some information to help you understand the area a little better.


McAllen, Texas lies in Hidalgo County in the heart of the Rio Grande Valley. For 2011, the McAllen area was rated the 11th safest large metropolitan in the country during Farmers Insurance annual study. This study takes into consideration multiple factors including weather, air quality, and crime statistics.


Crime in the area, contrary to belief, has actually decreased significantly for the county and continues to have much lower rates than cities of comparable size. The following statements, taken from an article from The Monitor, illustrate safety of the area.


"'Hidalgo County saw a significant reduction in overall crime last year, marking the second-lowest crime rate in the past 15 years,' Sheriff Lupe Trevino said.
'I'm very proud to report we had a 21.9 percent reduction in violent crime and a seven percent decrease in property crime,' Trevino said.
'You are safe,' Trevino said. 'There is no need to have an exaggerated fear of crime.'
'Sensationalism in the media affects perception,' he said, adding that Hidalgo county is the third safest of the seven larger counties in Texas, which include El Paso, Bexar, Harris, Tarrant, Travel and Dallas counties."


In fact, crime in McAllen has decreased by nearly 50% since 2004. But, how does McAllen compare to other cities within the same population range? We’ve created a chart with data from www.city-data.com, a website which uses FBI Crime Statistics and Census information for 2010 to gain an accurate picture of life within a city.

City

No. of Violent Crimes per 100,000

Chances of Becoming a Victim of a Violent Crime

Population

Est. Median House/Condo Value

McAllen, TX

299

1 in 434

129,871

99,300

Hollywood, FL

602

1 in 354

140,768

213,200

Topeka, KS

697

1 in 183

127,473

95,400

Ft Lauderdale, FL

1356

1 in 122

165,521

276,000

Syracuse, NY

1291

1 in 112

145,170

84,400

Columbia, SC

1306

1 in 99

129,272

165,700

Dayton, OH

1509

1 in 94

141,527

74,200

New Haven, CT

1992

1 in 65

129,779

232,200

Even more surprising was how McAllen compared to much smaller, but popular cities. The size of McAllen is triple the size of the communities listed below, but is three to four times safer! This disproportionate crime level further exemplifies how safe McAllen actually is.

City

No. of Violent Crimes per 100,000

Chances of Becoming a Victim of a Violent Crime

Population

Est. Median House/Condo Value

McAllen, TX

299

1 in 434

129,871

99,300

St Augustine, FL

93

1 in 139

12,975

216,236

Panama City, FL

277

1 in 132

36,484

145,775

Sarasota, FL

419

1 in 124

51,900

195,036

 

Our area offers many attractions!


Section Links:

Maps & Location Area Attractions
Crime & Statistics - Back to top of page


The area is best known for its beautiful natural landscaping, its proximity to South Padre Island, and some of the best birding in the country. Shopping and dining in Mexico are a short drive away and the shores of South Padre Island are about an hour’s drive east. Day-trippers can find dozens of points of interest in the area and have plenty of options when choosing a trip out of the resort.

The resort is well known for its proximity to the Don-Wes flea market. This 25 acre Mecca of flea markets is very popular stop for both locals and visitors. Only a few minutes west lays McAllen, TX, a city full of shops, markets, and all the conveniences of a large city. To the east lie both Harlingen and Brownsville, each offering many things to do and several sights to see.
 

Bentsen-Rio Grande Valley State Park

South of Mission on the Rio Grande, the 588-acre Bentsen-Rio Grande Valley State Park is a lush and more densely wooded area than much of the Valley, reminiscent of South Texas’ wildlife refuges. Camping facilities, picnic areas and full hookups are available as well as tours. Open to day-time visitors 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily, year-round.

 

Boca Chica Wetlands and Beach

South across the ship channel from South Padre Island lies Brownsville’s Boca Chica beach at the mouth of the Rio Grande. Sit atop the tall white dunes and watch migratory birds like falcons and pelicans that frequent trees on the "lomas" or elevated islands.

 

Brownsville Battlefields

The last battle of the Civil War was fought at Palmito Ranch near Brownsville several weeks after the Confederacy’s surrender. Brownsville also got caught in the crossfire of the Mexican-American War, that time at Palo Alto. Both battlefields have been preserved as National Historical Sites.

 

Coastal Studies Lab

This satellite of The University of Texas-Pan American studies and exhibits marine life like mollusks, crustaceans and marine vertebrates along with plant life. Open Sun.-Fri. 1:30-4:30

 

Confederate Air Force-Rio Grande Valley Wing

This local wing of the CAF currently houses 15 airplanes in flying condition. Other exhibits are antique military vehicles, weapons and uniforms. An air show is hosted in March. Open Mon.-Sat. 9-4.

 

Delta Lake

A man-made lake formed as a reservoir to supply northern mid-Valley farms with irrigation, one can almost always find fishermen wetting a line along its banks. A park offers a pavilion and large picnic areas.

 

Diving

There are currently two sites in the Valley that make for excellent scuba diving. One is an artificial reef built by Texas Department of Parks and Wildlife seven miles off South Padre Island from Port Isabel. The other is Port Mansfield Liberty Ship Reef, located 15 miles off Port Mansfield. These artificial reefs have become encrusted with invertebrates, such as barnacles, corals, and sponges, which are the beginning of the marine food chain. They attract grouper, snapper, amberjack, triggerfish, tarpon and shark, making them ideal sites for scuba diving.

 

Falcon Dam, Lake and State Park

Low rolling hills and the rustic beauty of western Starr County surrounds this huge 115,600-acre reservoir on the Rio Grande. The international boundary between the United States and Mexico meanders through the middle of the lake. Bath houses are available to wash off some of the great outdoors. Skiing and freshwater fishing is great. Open to daytime visitors daily 6 a.m. to 10 p.m.

 

Gladys Porter Zoo

Opened in 1971, Gladys Porter Zoo continues to be one of the premier zoos of the world. With more than 1,700 animal specimens, the zoo specializes in collecting and breeding endangered species. This 31-acre park has all zoo favorites like gorillas, giraffes, lions and rhinos, as well as other exotic animals. Virtually all animals live in open exhibits where visitors are able to view them in their natural surroundings. Open 365 days a year from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. with extended weekend and summer hours.

 

Historic Brownsville Museum

Housed in the historic Southern Pacific railroad passenger depot, this museum chronicles Brownsville’s history with photo exhibits and other permanent and rotating exhibits. The Brownsville Heritage Education Center within the museum also presents slide shows, lectures and other special events. Group tours are available with advance notice. Open Mon.-Fri. 10-4:30 and Sat. 10-1.

 

Hunting

The first two weeks of September brings an influx of migratory, billed and greenjacketed creatures - white wing hunters. The Valley is the only region in the United States where whitewing dove can be taken. Hunting leases are also available for white-tailed deer, wild turkey, javelina and wild pig.

 

Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge

East of Rio Hondo and bordering the Laguna Madre, this 45,000-acre tract is the Valley’s biggest wildlife refuge and sports hundreds of bird species plus ocelots, deer, javelina, squirrels, long-tailed weasels, alligators and mountain lions that are admittedly very rare but have been spotted. After checking in at the Visitors’ Center, see the Laguna Madre’s harsh, but beautiful ecosystem by driving or walking on the mapped roads. Open year-round, daily sunrise to sunset. Visitors’ Center open Oct.-April, daily 10-4; May-July, weekends 10-4. Closed July 5-Sept. 30 and holidays.

 

McAllen Nature Center

McAllen’s city-operated Botanical Gardens have areas to picnic in and hiking trails that show visitors some of the diverse plant life of the region.

 

Port Isabel

Hit the high seas for daylong excursions aboard deep sea fishing boats or wade-fish in the bay, known as Laguna Madre, off the banks of the mainland or the island. The bay is nationally renowned for its red drum, speckled trout and flounder populations that flourish in its seagrass meadows and shallow water. The fish population has rebounded nicely from a severe freeze in 1989. Just north of the Queen Isabella Causeway in Port Isabel is a long, lighted pier parallel to the causeway. A shop there sells food for you and the fish. Shrimp is the live bait of choice for bay fishing, but lures, especially "worms," produce great results too.

 

Port Mansfield

Once a small commercial fishing village and servicing port for oil companies bordered by the King Ranch, Port Mansfield is now primarily a sport fishing hot-spot. Wading and pier-fishing both produce spectacular results. There is also an annual tournament in mid-July. Lodging, restaurants, clubs, marinas, RV parks and hunting and fishing guides all make Port Mansfield what hunters and fishermen are trying to keep a secret.

 

Sabal Palm Grove Wildlife Sanctuary

This 172-acre wildlife sanctuary near Brownsville, owned by the National Audubon Society, is the largest and best-preserved Texas Sabal Palm forest in the country. An excellent destination for walking, photography, and observation of native plants and animals. Oct.1-May30, Tue.-Sun., 9-5. Closed Mon. & holidays. June 1-Sept. 30 Sat. & Sun. only, closed holidays.

 

Santa Ana National Wildlife Refuge

The final destination for birders from all over the world, this 2,080-acre refuge boasts more species of birds than any other spot in the United States. Its mascot is the rare chachalaca, a sort of wild chicken found only in the Rio Grande delta. Visitors can get within feet of these and other docile birds. Walk on three trails of different lengths totaling 12 miles underneath hanging moss. Stop at three man-made lakes and bird-watching blinds. Open daily dawn to dusk. Tram tours are available on seasonal schedules. Visitors’ Center open 9-4:30.

 

South Padre Island

Isla Blanca County Park is reached by turning south off the causeway. It has two beachfront pavilions that often have live music during busy seasons, a 1,000-foot sea walk, a marina, restaurants, gift shops, volleyball nets and showers. Stroll or fish off the huge granite jetties. Open daily 8-7.

Andy Bowie County Park north of the city limits on South Padre Island Drive/Highway 100 has many recent improvements including two beachfront pavilions, picnic tables, showers and restrooms, plus a large parking area. Open daily 7:30-5; summer, 7:30-7. Horseback riders take romantic trots through the surf for a very affordable hourly rate.

 

Valley Nature Center

A half-mile, self-guided nature trail brings visitors through a six-acre urban forest where native plants are on view. Exhibits and programs are offered during the winter and children’s workshops are featured in the summer. Presentations can be arranged for community groups. Open Tue.-Sat. 9-1.

Home | Maps & Directions | Contact Us

Copyright © 1999 - 2012. VictoriaPalms.com All Rights Reserved.